Today in Rip Payne

30 May

by Emma Earnst

 

On this day in 1970, Rip Payne spent the day at Christ Episcopal Church, photographing the Rumble wedding (as he named it).  As I’m going to be married there in just two and half weeks myself, you know I couldn’t resist!

I’ll let you enjoy after a few quick observations:

  1. Seafoam green is back.  That only took like 42 years… sheesh.
  2. I am not sure I’ll ever get used to bridesmaids wearing veils.
  3. Is this not one of the most unhappy-looking brides you have ever seen?  I don’t want to judge, because I myself have a face that never cooperates in pictures.  But, here I am, judging nonetheless.  Time to go practice in the mirror, me!
  4. Awesome choice of costume change, and even better car decorating.

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Responses to “Today in Rip Payne”

  1. Darlene Rowles Wheeler May 31, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Emma, I had the same red,white,& blue out fit that the blonde is wearing! Remember Deb! The family photo in the liv rm sittin on a picnic bench?? That is what I wore that day !!!! Wow I’m old!!!

  2. Dale March 13, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    Am enjoying these pix from Rip’s collection so much !! He took our wedding pictures June 23, 1967….My Mom chose a package deal that did not offer proofs to choose from—have often wondered if there were other shots :) Do you have access to all his files ?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today in Rip Payne « - July 11, 2012

    [...] in these, the brides look, well, a little terrified (at least pre-ceremony).  Understandable.  Our Weakly bride, though, looks positively radiant. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

