Today in Rip Payne

7 Feb

On this day in 1970, Rip Payne photographed a fun couple’s wedding at Christ Episcopal Church, located on High Street in downtown Charlottesville.  Rip was a big wedding photographer in his day, and our collection is absolutely riddled with wedding images of couples we have not identified.  I don’t want to overdo things, but I promise this set of photos is great, for so many reasons.  Here are a few:

  1. COLOR!!  Not traditional Rip, but what better time to do color than when the main subjects are wearing black and white, right?!
  2. This is where I am getting married in June!  I know you don’t share my enthusiasm on this one, but I had to go there.
  3. Wicked awesome beehive hair-dos.
  4. Equally wicked awesome facial hair (you’ll see).
  5. Really pretty clothing.  Seriously.  I would steal that bridesmaid’s dress in an instant, and dance around in it like its 1970.  And not just because it would be.
  6. This couple looks so in love.  The bride is positively glowing, and they are so playful together.

Okay, enough with my rambling.  Check them out yourself!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses to “Today in Rip Payne”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today in Rip Payne « - March 28, 2012

    […] now fully immersed in planning my own nuptials, I’d like to take a moment to be thankful that thus far no one has been murdered.  And also […]

  2. Today in Rip Payne « - May 3, 2012

    […] the way, Robin’s wedding, like my own upcoming nuptials will, took place in Christ Episcopal Church. But they let her put down a white runner. […]

Leave a Reply

